Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
A young Ugandan referee officiates at a local football match in Lugogo recently. Courtesy photo

Uganda To Host CAF Young Talent Referees Course

Two Ugandans Isa Masembe and Shamirah Nabadda are part of the group that is set to benefit from the course.
posted onSeptember 12, 2018

By Thomas Odongo

Uganda is set to host the CAF Young Talent Referees course which will take place from 14th–18th September, 2018 in Kampala.

The course is to be held in Uganda for the first time and a total of 34 referees from across the continent have confirmed their attendance.

Two Ugandans Isa Masembe and Shamirah Nabadda are part of the group that is set to benefit from the course.

Referees are expected to have arrived by 13th September 2018 ahead of the training and by press time some had already touched down at  Entebbe International airport.

“All the referees will undergo medical, physical, theoretical and technical tests during the course,” Anthony Baffoe, the CAF Deputy Secretary General in charge of football and development told the FUFA website.

Catherine Adipo is among the five instructors. Others are; An Yan Lim Kee Chong (Mauritius), Felix Tanagwarima (Zimbabwe), Cherifi Nasradine (Algeria) and Pierre Alain Mounguengui (Gabon).

FUFA Boss Moses Magogo noted that Uganda is more than ready to host the course.

“We are good to go because all preparations are almost done. This course is set to benefit our upcoming officials in particular and we welcome it with both hands,” Magogo told the FUFA website.

List of referees for the course;

Male Referees: Nabil Boukhalfa (Algeria), Ligali Adissa Abdoul Raphiou (Benin), Tirelo Mositwane (Botswana), Georges Gatogato (Burundi), Daurte Fabricio (Cape Verde), Bilal Abdallah Ismael (Djibouti), Mahrous Mahmoud A. H. Ahmed (Egypt), Mogos Teklu Tsegay (Eritrea), Atcho Pierre (Gabon), Huraywidah Abdulwahid (Libya), Dahane Beida (Mauritania), Ali Moussa Mohamed (Niger), Artan Omar Abdulkadir (Somalia), Christopher Harrison (South Africa) and Haythem Guirat (Tunisia).

Assistant Referees: Eric Aymavo Ayamr (Benin), Kitso Sibanda Madondo (Botswana), Habib Sanou Judicael Oumar (Burkina Faso), Herve Kakunze (Burundi), Brahim Ahmat Adam (Chad), Martin Mukala (DR Congo), Ditsoga Boris Marlaise (Gabon), Babajee Ram (Mauritius), Akerkad Mustapha (Morocco), Mutuyimana Dieudonne (Rwanda), Dos Reis Montenegero Miro (Sao Tome and Prinicipe), Van Wyk Mervin John (South Africa), Soud Iddi Lila (Tanzania), Hassan Khalil (Tunisia) and Isa Masembe (Uganda).

Female Referees: Atman Lamia (Algeria), Abebe Tsehaynesh (Ethiopia), Madu Ndidi Patience (Nigeria), Amara Hedia (Tunisia) and Shamirah Nabadda (Uganda).

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.