Skip to main content
 New Parliamentary Commissioners; Silwanyi and Nalule. Courtesy photo

MPs Silwany, Nalule Named Parliamentary Commissioners

posted onJanuary 22, 2020

By Max Patrick Ocaido

Bukooli Central Member of Parliament Solomon Silwany and Safia Nalule Juuko, MP for People with Disability representing Central region, have been elected backbench Parliamentary Commissioners.

Silwany and Nalule replace, now Ministers; Peter Ogwang (MP Usuk) and Robinnah Nabbanja (Kakumiro Woman MP). Ogwang was appointed State Minister for ICT while Nabbanja was appointed State Minister for Health (General Duties) in the recent cabinet reshuffle.

The Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa on Tuesday nominated the two NRM members, who were subsequently elected commissioners.

Rule 11(4) of the Parliament Rules of Procedure empowers the party whips to nominate members who shall be elected in the House to become backbench Parliamentary Commissioners. Other serving Parliamentary Commissioners include; Workers MP Arinaitwe Rwakajara (NRM) and Buhweju County MP Francis Mwijukye (FDC)

Meanwhile Nankabirwa named Kassanda South legislator Simeo Nsubuga as Parliament’s representative at the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, replacing his Kassanda North colleague Peter Nsamba Oshabe.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.