Skip to main content
Deputy Speaker Annet Anita Among

Over 20 Ministers to be Vetted Today

by Max Pat
posted onJune 15, 2021

The Parliamentary Appointments Committee has today resumed vetting presidential nominees for cabinet positions.

The committee chaired by Deputy Speaker Anita Among yesterday (Monday) kicked off the vetting process of Ministers after the whole House unanimously approved Vice President Jessica Alupo and Prime Minister Robinah Nabbanja.

24 Ministers have been scheduled to appear before the vetting committee today. Among the ministers include; Hajati Misi Kabanda (KCCA), Hilary Onek (Minister for Relief and Disaster), Kitutu Goretti (Karamoja Affairs), Frank Tumwebaze (Minister for Agriculture), Vincent Ssempijja (Defence), Ruth Nankabirwa (Energy), Jeje Odongo (Foreign Affairs), Betty Amongi (Gender), Matia Kasaija (Finance), Chris Baryomunsi (ICT).

Others are; Agnes Nandutu (State minister for Karamoja), Peter Ogwang (State minister for Economic Monitoring), Gen Katumba Wamala (Works and Transport), Raphael Magyezi (Local Government), Otafiire Kahinda (Internal Affairs) and Judith Nabakooba (Lands) etc.

Yesterday, the Appointments committee successfully vetted and approved Education minister Janet Museveni and 1st Deputy PM Rebecca Kadaga who both appeared via zoom. Others who were successfully vetted include; 2nd PM Moses Ali, 3rd PM Rukia Nakadama, Health minister Jane Ruth Aceng, Government Chief Whip Thomas Tayebwa, Security minister Jim Muhwezi, Attorney General Kiwanuka Kiryowa, Minister for General Duties Justine Lumumba etc.

There was a scare on Mariam Doka Babalanda, minister for presidency designate following inconsistencies of names appearing on her academic documents. This prompted the vetting committee to stay her approval. However, State House clarified that there was a mix up on Babalanda’s names and had it clarified.

“This is to clarify that the correct names are Mrs Babirye Milly Babalanda and not Mariam Doka Babalanda. I, therefore, confirm that His Excellency the president appointed Mrs Babirye Milly Babalanda as Minister in charge of Presidency,” a letter addressed to Clerk to Parliament by the PPS Kenneth Omona reads.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.