Skip to main content
Museveni appoints new Permanent Secretaries

FULL LIST: Museveni Appoints New Permanent Secretaries

by Max Pat
posted onJuly 15, 2021

President Yoweri Museveni has appointed new Permanent Secretaries for Financial Year 2021/2022.

In the letter released this evening, Museveni has dropped Jane Kibirge as Clerk to Parliament and replaced her with former Minister of State for Defence Adolf Mwesige. Kibirige who is the first woman Clerk to Parliament has served in that position since 2012. Apparently, her contract had about two year left having been renewed in 2018. The Clerk to Parliament is the de-facto Chief Executive Officer of the Parliamentary Service and is at the rank of the Permanent Secretary with a responsibility to guide and initiate strategies to help the Parliamentary Commission achieve its vision especially in terms of budgeting and law making.

Museveni Appoints New Permanent Secretaries
Museveni Appoints New Permanent Secretaries 

In other appointments, Museveni has dropped Lucy Nakyobe as State House comptroller and replaced her with Jane Barekye. Nakyobe has been taken to head public service. Long serving Secretary to the Treasury Keith Muhakanizi has been moved to Office of the Prime Minister. Makerere University don and economist Ramathan Ggoobi has been moved to head the national treasury as the secretary or PS, Ministry of Finance.

Museveni also appointed Betty Kamya, as Inspector General of Government (IGG) replacing Irene Mulyagonja who retired in 2020.

List of Permanent Secretaries
New Permanent Secretaries

In accordance with the Article 99 (1)(a) and the Public Service Standing Order, Museveni pronounced the retirement of 7 Permanent Secretaries whom he dropped in the new reshuffle. Among them include; Amb. Patrick Mugoya, who served as PS, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Jane Kibirige, Clerk to Parliament, Kintu Guwatudde, PS, Office of the Prime Minister, Pius Wakabi, Ministry of Agriculture, Kivumbi Lutaaya, Principal Private Secretary to the Vice President, Benon Mutambi, Ministry of Internal Affairs and David Ebong, Ministry of Science and Technology.

New Permanent Secretaries
New Permanent Secretaries


About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.