Skip to main content
Hajjat Madina Nsereko Ntale appearing before the Appointments Committee

New Land Commission Members Vetted

by Max Pat
posted onApril 19, 2022

The Parliamentary committee on Appointments has Tuesday vetted two appointees of the Uganda Lands Commission (ULC).

The committee chaired by Deputy Speaker Thomas Tayebwa successfully vetted and approved Hajjat Madina Nsereko Ntale and Tom Kasenge as the members of Commission. Hajjat Madina and Kasenge were not present when the committee appointed other members of the commission last month.

The two appointees have been members of the Lands commission since 2016. Other members of the commission include; Prof Jack H. Nyeko Pen-Mogi (chairperson), Charles K. Muhoozi, Stella Achan, Bujara Rukiika and Haji Asuman Kyafu.

Pen-Mogi replaced embattled Beatrice Nyakaisiki Byenkya as the chairperson of the commission after she was interdicted early this year over abuse of office.

Uganda Lands Commission is a semi-autonomous land verification, monitoring and preservation organisation, that is mandated to document, verify, preserve and maintain land owned and/or administered by the government.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.