Skip to main content
Deputy Speaker Thomas Tayebwa

Select Committee Constituted to Process Minister Namuganza Censure Motion

by KP
posted onJanuary 6, 2023

The Deputy Speaker Thomas Tayebwa has appointed a 7 member select committee to investigate a censure motion against Hon Persis Namuganza, the State minister for Lands.

During the Friday plenary sitting, Tayebwa said the select committee will scrutinise and identify prima facie evidence on the censure motion in accordance with Rule 109(9) of the Rules of Procedure. Hon Mwine Mpaka (Mbarara South Division) is the chairperson of the committee. Other members are; Hon Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East), Hon Mpindi Bumali (PWD), Hon Charles Bakkabulindi (Workers), Hon Nancy Acora (Lamwo District), Hon Betty Naluyima (Wakiso District), Hon Godfrey Ekanya (Tororo North).

According to Tayebwa, the select committee is expected to scruntinize all the evidence tabled, accord a fair hearing to the accused, and report back to the House within 15 days. Last month, the Parliamentary Committee on Rules, Privileges, and Discipline found minister Namuganza guilty of gross misconduct and misbehavior after making impugned statements in the media in May 2022.

It is alleged that Hon. Namuganza took to social media and television questioning the powers and integrity of the presiding officers to form Adhoc Committees to investigate the Nakawa-Naguru land allocation.

The committee recommended that Namuganza is stripped of her ministerial position, a recommendation that was adopted by the House, and a censure motion was subsequently presented on the floor of Parliament.

Rule 109 of the Rules of Procedure provides clear guidelines on the process of censuring a minister. The House now awaits findings of the select committee to advance the censure motion.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.