Skip to main content
uganda cranes

Uganda Cranes Find Themselves in Last 16 Despite Defeat by Egypt

Uganda's last 16 automatic slot was confirmed by DRC beating Zimbabwe by the same scoreline at 30 June Stadium, leaving Egypt top of Group A with nine points and Cranes second on four
posted onJuly 1, 2019

Uganda Cranes will now face either Senegal or Kenya in the last 16 of this maiden 24-team Nations Cup tournament after finishing second in group A behind hosts Egypt,.The other teams in the group were DRC who came third and Zimbabwe at the bottom of the table.

The Cranes lost to Egypt whose 2 goals were scored by Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah and Ahmed Elmohamady a game played at Cairo International Stadium.

Uganda's last 16 automatic slot was confirmed by DRC beating Zimbabwe by the same scoreline at 30 June Stadium, leaving Egypt top of Group A with nine points and Cranes second on four.   

After 41 years

This is the first time to make the AFCON group stages for the first time in 41 years.

Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) out-muscled Zimbabwe 4-0 at the 30th June Stadium in Cairo.

Jonathan Bolingi, a brace from Cedric Bakambu (including a penalty) and Britt Assombalonga’s last nail thumped Zimbabwe on the night.

DRC will now wait the mathematics for the four countries that will qualify as third best.

Egypt’s skipper El Mohamady was once again named man of the match.


Group A standings
Team P W D L GF GA Pts
Egypt (H) 3 3 0 0 5 0 9
Uganda 3 1 1 1 3 3 4 
DR Congo 3 1 0 2 4 4 3
Zimbabwe 3 0 1 2 1 4 1

Group A results
Uganda 2-0 DRC
Egypt 1-0 Zimbabwe
Uganda 1-1 Zimbabwe
Egypt 2-0 DRC

Last night
DRC 4-0 Zimbabwe 
Egypt 2-0 Uganda 

Group A road ahead 
July 5, Cairo International Stadium 
Uganda vs Runner-up Group C (Senegal or Kenya) 
July 7 – Alexandria 
Winner Group B vs 3rd Group A/C/D 
July 7 – Cairo, 30 June Stadium 
Algeria vs 3rd Group A/B/F 
July 6 – Cairo (International)

Egypt vs 3rd Group C/D/E 

Uganda Cranes XI:

Denis Onyango, Nico Wakiro Wadada, Godfrey Walusimbi, Timothy Denis Awany, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda,  Mike Azira, Khalid Aucho, Abdu Lumala, Faruku Miya,Emmanuel Arnold Okwi. Allan Kyambadde.


Robert Odongkara (G.K), Salim Omar Magoola (G.K), Joseph Benson Ochaya, Bevis Kristofer Kizito Mugabi, Tado Lwanga, William Luwaga Kizito, Patrick Henry Kaddu, Paul Derrick Nsibambi, Allan Kateregga, Ronald Mukiibi Ddungu, Isaac Muleme

Injured: Murushid Juuko

Egypt XI:

Mohamed Elshenawy Elsayed (G.K),  Ahmed Elmohamady Abdelfattah Aly Eissa,  Alyman Ashraf Elsyad, Baher Mohamed Moursi, Ahmed Elsayed Elsayed Ali Elsayed Hegazy, Mohamed Elneny, Nabil Amad Aly, Abdallah Mahmoud Said Mohamed Bekhit, Mohemed Salah Mahrous Ghaly, Mahmoud Ahmed Ibrahim Hassan, Ahmed Hassan Mohamed Abdelmonem Mohamed Mahgoub


Ahmed Nasser Mahmoud Maowad Elshenawi (G.K), Omar Gaber, Aly Mohamed, Hamed Tarek, Marwan Mohsen Fahmy Tharwat, Said Walid Ebeid, Ahmed Ayman Mohamed Mansour, Ahmed Gharib, Mahmoud Hamdy Mohamed Attia, Mahmoud Alaaeldin Mahmoud Ibrahim

Absent: Amr Medhat Mohsen Warda, Mahmoud Abdelrehim Abdelrehim (G.K)

Head Coach: Javier Onaindia Aguirre

Match Officials:

Center Referee: Maguette Ndiaye  (Senegal)

Assistant Referee 1: Elvis Guy Noupue Nguegoue (Cameroon)

Assistant Referee 2:  Seydou Tiama (Burkina Faso)

Fourth Official: Helder Martins Rodrigues De Carvalho (Angola)

Commissioner: Mohamed Sobha (Mauritania)

Commissioner General: Khaled Lemkecher (Tunisia)

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.