Skip to main content
Nalule Safia

Parliament Approves new Members of the Equal Opportunities Commission

posted onApril 24, 2021

The Parliamentary Committee on Appointments has on Friday successfully vetted and approved the newly appointed member of the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC).

The Appointments Committee chaired by Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga interacted with the presidential appointees before they were successfully approved, according to a source.

Among those who were approved include; the outgoing Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) Representative for Central Uganda, Hon Safia Nalule Juuko as the Chairperson of EOC. Nalulue replaces Sylvia Nabatanzi Muwebwa who is facing corruption charges in the Anti-Corruption Court.

Read moreMeet Safia Nalule, the New EOC Chairperson

Others who were approved include; Ojok Joel Cox (Vice Chairperson), Denise Tumusiime, Zaidi Ibrahim Edema and Sr. Mary Wasagali who are all members.

The Equal Opportunities Commission is a constitutional body mandated to eliminate all sorts of discrimination and inequalities against any individual or group of persons for the purpose of redressing imbalances which exist against them, and to provide for other related matters.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.