Skip to main content
MPs Elect EALA Members in a Chaotic Poll

MPs Elect EALA Members in a Chaotic Poll

by Max Pat
posted onSeptember 29, 2022

Members of the 11th Parliament on Thurday elected Uganda’s representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) in a poll riddled by chaos. 

The NRM party retained six incumbents, while two former MPs in the previous 10th Parliament; Veronica Kadogo Babirye and Jacquiline Amongin were elected from the Independent block, with Democratic Party’s Secretary General, Gerald Siranda scooping the only position left for Opposition parties.
The NRM MPs who retained their seats are; Hon. Rose Akol, Hon. James Kakooza, Hon. Paul Musamali, Hon. George Odongo, Hon. Dennis Namara and Hon. Mary Mugyenyi.

The MPs were declared winners of the race that attracted 28 candidates after more than seven hours of campaigning, voting, and tallying during a sitting on Thursday, 29 September 2022.

Speaker, Anita Among, declared the members elected for the positions and appealed to them to put the country first on the agenda rather not their political parties. She also asked the newly elected MPs to furnish Parliament with reports from of EALA business so that it can be localised. 

“I want to thank you honorable members for doing your noble duty of voting.  From the Speakers office, we want to thank you. We want to thank the members of EALA, you have been there for us,” she said.

Earlier during the polls, chaos broke out after Aringa South MP Alioni Odria stormed out of the pollimg station with a ballot box alleging that there was vote rigging. Odria who was shouting on top of his voice caused commotion as security attempted to subdue him. He alleged that the entire process has been marred with vote stuffing before punching the head of security at Parliament in the head. 

According to the EALA road map, by September, Parliament should have selected and gazetted Uganda's representatives to the Arusha-based Assembly. The tenure of the current EALA MPs expires in December 2022.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.